Show mobile navShow mobile nav
236 Kane Street / Brooklyn, NY 11231 / 718 875-1550


United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism / METNY

Kane Street Synagogue is a member of the United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism, which acts as advocate and voice for the member congregations of the Conservative Movement. The mission of USCJ is to strengthen and serve Conservative congregations and their members. The organization is divided into fifteen regions; Kane Street belongs to the Metropolitan New York Region, known as “METNY”.

Kane Street’s Executive Vice President, Vicky Vossen joined METNY’s Board of Directors in November 2008. Together with Rabbi Charles Savenor, the Regional Director, and fellow Board members, METNY leadership is dedicated to proactive, personal outreach to member congregations to find out what our synagogues need and how USCJ/METNY can help deliver.

Our congregation has a long history with USCJ. In 1913, we were charter members of the predecessor organization, United Synagogue of America. Three of the twenty-two founders were from Baith Israel Anshei Emes – Rabbi Israel Goldfarb, Michael Salit, and Isaac Applebaum. Louis Moss served as United Synagogue president from 1931-1944.

We are delighted with the renewed energy within USCJ. In January 2009, our synagogue hosted a METNY “Open House” as a forum for the area’s Conservative congregations. We look forward to new initiatives and going from strength to strength!

Learn about the Conservative Movement at USCJ’s website:

Other Connections to Conservative Judaism

The Jewish Theological Seminary:
Women’s League for Conservative Judaism:
Rabbinical Assembly:
Cantor’s Assembly:
National Ramah Commission:

| Content ©2008-2024 Kane Street Synagogue | Website by Springthistle
Website photography: Paul Bernstein | Hank Gans | Rich Pomerantz | Harvey Wang |
Messaging Terms & Conditions